50 lbs Wasn’t Realistic 

After much squeezing and eliminating, me and my 3 (yes, 3… I mean let’s be realistic, 50 lbs. isn’t enough for 4 months) are sitting on the runway ready for take off. In 2, hours I will land in Newark and in 19 hours and 44 minutes (fingers crossed) I will land in Barcelona! 

The last few days in St. Louis were full of great food, great friends and family, and lots of extremely last minute packing. Although I have been home for the past 5 weeks, I decided to wait until the last possible minute to start packing, something my dad repeatedly told me not to do (sorry dad you were right.) But what can I say? I am my mother’s daughter and running out the door stuffing things in my suitcase only seemed proper, not to mention the last minute bag switch in the airport. 

Yes, you read that right, sadly my bag was 10 lbs. over the limit, and unfortunately United Airlines wasn’t gonna let that slide. As we frantically searched for options, we decided that our best bet was to purchase one of the overpriced luggage bags at the airport. 

After that fiasco, it was time for goodbyes. My mom, dad and boyfriend, Nick took me to the airport and put up with my overpacked and nervous self. We said our goodbyes and parted ways. Few tears were shed but even more tears followed as I passed through TSA and caught my last glance of my going away committee. I couldn’t have made it to my gate without them and I sure couldn’t have packed my 60.17 lb. suitcase without them. 

So now, me and my two checked bags, one carry on, one backpack, one pillow and one blanket are getting our last looks of St. Louis for the next 4 months. 

See you in 19 hours and 31 minutes Barcelona! 

6 thoughts on “50 lbs Wasn’t Realistic 

  1. Glad to see all went according to plan as usual. The way I see it you can now bring an extra 40 pounds back to the US. Safe travels and look forward to your posts. Be safe and have fun as you learn!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

